Contents of publications

The protection concept for helicopters defence against guided missile weapons with IR seekers

The aircraft ADS 'Talisman' and the helicopter ADS 'Amulet' are intended for self-defence of the respective air platforms against all types of radar guided missile weapons and guided missile weapons (GMW) with infra-red seekers (IRS). The first task is accomplished by the radio electronic protection equipment, included in ADS. The second one is performed by the radar for acquisition and tracking of all types of air-to air (AAM) and surface-to-air missiles (SAM) with IRS, aimed at controlling flare dispensers and based on the pyrotechnic generators of IR emission, 'concealing' the IR signature of the ADS-carrier.

The concept for radio electronic protection, implemented in the ADS 'Talisman' and 'Amulet', is revealed in the article 'Design concept for individual protection of air platforms against guided missile weapons'.

The concept for defence of aircraft and helicopters against GMW is based on the assumption, stating that the effective protection against the given type of GMW shall be considered possible only on condition of obtaining the timely information about the approach of the attacking IRS-fitted missile. The given postulate is implemented in the missile approach warning radar (MAWR), included in the ADS 'Talisman' and ADS 'Amulet'.

At present the radar acquisition of attacking aircraft missiles with IRS and SAMs of MANPADS has become common practice when it comes to protection against such types of missiles and has already been utilized in lots of foreign military and even civil aircraft and helicopters.

However, the acquisition of attacking IRS missiles itself shall be regarded only as a mere requirement for effective protection. It stands to reason, that the primary and sufficient conditions for the protection of the ADS-carrier against missiles with IRS shall be the following:

the arrangement of special flare dispensing;

timely anti-missile maneuvering (AMM).

The given issues have been set forth in the concept for protection of aircraft and helicopters against GMW with IRS.

The concept key principles

1. Countermeasures against GMW with IRS

The main tool for generating countermeasures against GMW with IRS shall be considered the flares, dispensed together with IR radiation generators. The above-mentioned method of protection is regarded as the only universal tool applicable for all types of aircraft and helicopters.

As for the protection options, based on the modulated radiation of high-power xenon lamps and on the laser impact on the IRS photosensitive elements, those are not even considered for the following reasons:

First, because of rather limited application (its impact only on modulated IRS), high power consumption and challenges stemming from the placement of emitters on the carrier, with their shading and blocking all the angular area of any possible attacks.

Second, due to extremely high cost, absence of any proof in flight tests, stating the possibility of homing the laser beam towards the missile's IRS right from the maneuvering aircraft, as well as the unacceptable high rate of false alarms, coming from the UV sensor system, defining the coordinates of an attacking missile.

Additionally, no consideration is offered to the protection method based on dispensing and initiation of the cloud of powdered fuel from turbojet engines, since it is entirely inapplicable to gas-turbine engines of helicopters, in addition to its unproven effectiveness in aircraft protection.

2. Universal Protection

The effective protection shall be universal and go for the whole class of GMW with IRS. Namely, the protection shall be securely provided against all three existing generations of GMW with IRS and shall preserve the fixed, though maybe decreased, effective impact on the 4th generation IRS GMW.

The first generation of GMW with IRS shall be understood to mean single-spectrum, one-element (with one point receiver) and modulated (not instantaneous) technique of directing finding. The vanishing type of GMW.

The second generation comprises two-point ones (the main and auxiliary channels) with a joint optical system, dual spectrum receivers and modulated technique of directing finding. The most popular type of GMW.

he third generation is recognized by matrix (multi-point) single-spectrum receivers with the application of instantaneous direction finding. The type of GMW, replacing the 2nd GMW in the armed forces of advanced countries of the world.

The fourth (expected) generation comprises matrix dual-spectrum GMW with IRS.

3. The use of fundamental (unremovable) properties of the targeted objects

The key principle of effective protection lies in the employment of only fundamental (unremovable) properties of targeted objects (IRS, control and ammunition systems) and protection means as well as prohibition to design a defence system, based on the private drawbacks and peculiarities of GMW with IRS.

IRS of the missiles utilize the heat direction finding of low-temperature emission sources of aircraft and helicopter engines with a wavelength of λ=4-5 m, =500-900 . The pyrotechnic generators (sources) of IR radiation (IRR), also known as thermites, have a temperature of ~ 2000 K and wavelength of 1.5-2 m. For the first generation of GMW with IRS, unable to discern the emission sources in terms of spectrum, the dispensing generators for IRR, due to their superior power, performed the effective interception of the target tracking and diverted the missile away from the carrier. Starting from the very outset of employing countermeasures against GMW with IRS of the 1st generation, such dispensing generators of IRR with good reason were termed as 'IR decoys', and later on were labelled as 'flares' by more advanced analysts. With the defence pattern itself known as 'the missile's distraction', i.e. diverting the missile with IRS away from the target.

When it comes to the second generation GMW, the spectral difference between the engines' IR emissions and those of generators for IRR are reliably discriminated by the IRS photodetectors, based on InSb (indium antimonide or antimonious indium), λ~4-6 m) and PbS (lead sulphide, λ~2-3 m). Thus, it became basically unachievable to carry out 'the distraction' of such seekers in terms of sources, different in spectrum.

Therefore, much effort was focused on the development of 'low temperature' generators for IRR, spectrally similar to the emission of at least relative to high-temperature engines. This approach holds two insuperable obstacles.

First, it is the Planck's law, to be more specific, its two consequences: Stefan-Boltzmann's law and Wien's law. Which state that the source of IR emission with high energy may only be high temperature and short-wave.

The second impediment is of chemical nature and stems from the fact, that high specific (per unit mass) emission power may be obtained only on the basis of high-temperature pyrotechnic reactions. It is the thermites and thermites alone, which are able provide the emission of tremendous power, with the higher rate of build-up, and small mass required for the formation of small-sized expendable elements. But thermites deliver short-wave IR emission, intense emission in the visible range and even a bit of ultraviolet. Therefore any spectral similarity is out of the question.

Thus, the present concept for defence is based on the ground that the emission from thermites, even though the peak of such emission stays in the vicinity of 1.5 m, provides their power superiority over gas-dynamic sources of IRR and stretches beyond 6-8 m.

In doing so, the point at issue is not the development of spectrally similar false targets, but the masking (concealment) of emission from the aircraft under protection, both in the forward and rear hemispheres. Helicopters require a 360-protection. The main sources for IR radiation of air platforms, tracked by the missile's IRS, are the sources of IR radiation from exhaust gas pipes, nozzles, exhaust pipes and plumes of engines.

Therefore, if the concept for radio electronic defence, implemented in the ADS 'Talisman' and 'Amulet', is based on the generation of false targets, spectrally identical to the echo signals (flatly rejecting broadband noise masking countermeasures), then the concept for defence against IRS, irrespective of the IRS type, 'pinpoint' or 'matrix', is based on the masking high-energy broadband emission of IRR generators.

4. Maneuvering of ADS-carrier

A crucially important principle embed in the concept for defence against 'pinpoint' and 'matrix' IRS, is the maneuvering of the ADS-carrier, launched simultaneously with the onset of flare dispensing and with the maximum possible acceleration rate.

The maneuver, started right after the attack has been detected, but before the flare dispensing makes no sense, since AAM with its 40 g of available acceleration and the missile's control loop with a band of 4-5 hz easily 'fends off' the miss, generated by those 'pathetic' 5-7 g of the ADS-carrier with acceleration rate of 1-2 secs.

The effective protection against GMW with IRS (regardless of their type): ('pinpoint' or 'matrix') may be accomplished only by means of coordinated flare dispensing and anti-missile maneuvering. The flare dispensing allows to conceal the carrier's IR radiation, thus resulting in 'breaking' the guidance loop of the attacking missile with the 'activation' of the mechanism for targets discrimination (counter countermeasures). The anti-missile maneuvering, performed under the cover provided by flares ('concealment' of IR-emission) , makes it possible for the carrier to go beyond the field-of-regard of the attacking missile with IRS, which in the long run results in the missile miss, or survival of the ADS-carrier.

5. Measure of merit

The effectiveness of the developed means of protection against GMW with IRS shall be characterized by one parameter only, which is the probability of survival of the ADS - carrier when attacked by the given (standard) number of AAMs and SAMs.

The concept for defence against GMW with IRS, formulated above, clearly determines the configuration of the defence solution, implemented in the ADS 'Talisman' and 'Amulet', thus comprising:

a missile approach warning radar (MAWR);

a system for flare dispensing;

recording equipment for registering MAWR parameters.

Missile approach warning radar

The missile approach warning radar is a multi-position radar system with 3 stages of operation available:

the detection of missiles (all types), attacking the aircraft, with the measurement of approach velocity and direction of attack;

the measurement of range to each detected missile, which in conjunction with the approach velocity allows to determine the impact point time, being the key characteristic, required for the application and launch of flares and anti-missile maneuvering. The tracking of detected missiles in range and velocity;

high-precision range measurement in the terminal phase of the missile's approach (100-150m) for the flares application, aimed at masking the IR-emission coming from the carrier's airframe and , possibly, for setting special countermeasures against magnetic-induction non-proximity fuses of some MANPADS' SAMs.

Apart from the tasks, defined by the particular stage of works, the onboard radar in its cooperation with EPE provides the type of the attacking missile.

The missile types discriminated:

AAMs with radar seekers (RS);

SAMs with RS;

SAMs of mobile short-range SAM-systems;

SAMs of MANPADS (with IRS);

AAMs with IRS.

The use of data on the type of the attacking missile makes it possible to avoid flare dispensing and anti-missile maneuvering when detecting the attack by the missile with RS. Thus, the limited expendable resources are saved and the operating crew are spared from the performance of any unnecessary maneuver while carrying out their operational task.

The system for flare dispensing

The system for flare dispensing in the ADS 'Talisman' and 'Amulet' includes:

a system, consisting of sector flare dispensers , providing the optimal angles and rates of flare dispensing and quantity of spent cartridges.

cartridges with accelerated build-up and burning of the pyrotechnic mixture, decreased dispensing rate and burning time.

The recording equipment for registering OR parameters

All modules of the onboard radar, in addition to the communications links with the weapon control system of the carrier, convey the performance data to the recording equipment for registering the OR data, which links them up to the satellite time of the navigation systems NAVSTAR or GLONASS. After the flight they are read out and displayed in the form, convenient for further analysis.



© Defense Initiatives

When copying or quoting, reference to the website is required

К оглавлению публикаций

Концепция защиты самолетов и вертолетов от управляемого ракетного оружия с инфракрасными головками самонаведения

БКО самолетов «Талисман» и БКО вертолетов «Амулет» предназначены для индивидуальной защиты соответствующих летательных аппаратов от всех типов радиоуправляемого ракетного оружия и от управляемого ракетного оружия (УРО) с инфракрасными головками самонаведения (ИК ГСН). Первую задачу выполняет аппаратура радиоэлектронной защиты (АРЭЗ), входящая в состав БКО. Вторую — радиолокационная система обнаружения и сопровождения всех типов авиационных (АУР) и зенитных управляемых ракет (ЗУР) с ИК ГСН с целью управления автоматами отстрела тепловых ложных целей (ТЛЦ) на основе пиротехнических генераторов ИК излучения, маскирующих ИК излучение носителя БКО.

Концепция радиоэлектронной защиты, реализованная в БКО «Талисман» и «Амулет», изложена в публикации «Концепция построения индивидуальной защиты летательных аппаратов от управляемого ракетного оружия».

В основе концепции защиты самолетов и вертолетов от УРО с ИК ГСН лежит постулат о том, что эффективная защита от данного типа УРО возможна только на основе получения своевременной информации о подлете атакующей ракеты с ИК ГСН. Данный постулат реализует барьерный радиолокатор (БРЛ), входящий в состав БКО «Талисман» и БКО «Амулет».

В настоящее время радиолокационное обнаружение атакующих авиационных ракет с ИК ГСН и ЗУР ПЗРК стало общепринятым способом обеспечения защиты от этих типов ракет и уже реализовано во многих зарубежных военных и даже гражданских самолетах и вертолетах.

Однако само по себе обнаружение атакующих ракет с ИК ГСН является только лишь необходимым условием эффективной защиты. Достаточными и, безусловно, важнейшими условиями защиты носителя БКО от ракет с ИК ГСН являются:

— организация специального отстрела ТЛЦ;

— своевременный противоракетный маневр (ПРМ).

Эти вопросы сформулированы в виде концепции защиты самолетов и вертолетов от УРО с ИК ГСН.

Основные положения концепции

1. Средства создания помех ИК ГСН

Основное средство создания помех ИК ГСН — отстреливаемые ТЛЦ с ИК генераторами излучения. Единственный универсальный для всех типов самолетов и вертолетов способ защиты.

Варианты защиты на основе модулированного излучения мощных (ксеноновых) ламп и на основе лазерного воздействия на фоточувствительные элементы ГСН не рассматриваются по следующим причинам:

Во-первых, из-за узкой специализации (воздействие только на модуляционные ИК ГСН), высокого энергопотребления и проблем с размещением на носителе излучателей, перекрывающих всю угловую зону возможных атак.

Во-вторых, из-за крайней дороговизны, недоказанности в летных испытаниях возможности наведения с борта маневренного летательного аппарата лазерного луча на ГСН ракеты и недопустимо высокого уровня ложных тревог системы ультрафиолетовых датчиков определения координат атакующей ракеты.

Не рассматривается также и способ защиты на основе выброса и поджига облака распыленного топлива турбореактивных двигателей как совершенно неприемлемого для газотурбинных двигателей вертолетов с неясной эффективностью защиты самолетов.

2. Универсальность защиты

Эффективная защита должна быть универсальна для всего класса УРО с ИК ГСН. Т.е. защита должна быть надежно обеспечена для всех трех существующих поколений УРО с ИК ГСН и должна сохранять определенную хотя и, быть может, сниженную эффективность воздействия на УРО с ИК ГСН четвертого поколения.

Первое поколение ИК ГСН — односпектральные, одноэлементные (с одним точечным фотоприемником) и модуляционным (не мгновенным) способом пеленгования. Исчезающий тип УРО.

Второе поколение — двухточечные (основной и вспомогательный каналы) с единой оптической системой, двухспектральными приемниками и модуляционным способом пеленгования. Наиболее массовый тип УРО.

Третье поколение — матричные (многоточечные) односпектральные приемники с мгновенным способом пеленгования. Тип УРО, заменяющий второе поколение в вооруженных силах ведущих стран мира.

Четвертое (ожидаемое) поколение — матричные двухспектральные ИК ГСН.

3. Использование только фундаментальных (неустранимых) свойств объектов воздействия

Основной принцип эффективной защиты — это использование только фундаментальных (неустранимых) свойств объектов воздействия (ИК ГСН, систем управления и боевого снаряжении) и средств защиты и недопустимость построения системы защиты на основе частных недостатков и особенностей УРО с ИК ГСН.

ИК ГСН ракет используют теплопеленгование низкотемпературных источников излучения двигателей самолетов и вертолетов с длиной волны λ=4-5 мкм, Т=500-900 К. Пиротехнические генераторы (источники) ИК излучения (ИКИ) — термиты — имеют температуру ~ 2000 K и длины волн 1.5-2 мкм. Для первого поколения УРО с ИК ГСН, не различающие спектрально источники излучения, отстреливаемые генераторы ИКИ в силу их превосходящей энергетики надежно перехватывали сопровождение цели и уводили ракету от носителя. Именно с периода противодействия УРО с ИК ГСН первого поколения такие отстреливаемые генераторы ИКИ с полным основанием были названы «тепловыми ловушками» и затем более продвинутыми аналитиками были названы тепловыми ложными целями. А процедура защиты называлась «отвлечением» ракет с ИК ГСН от цели.

Во втором поколении спектральные различия ИК излучений двигателей и ИК излучения генераторов ИКИ надежно селектируется фотоприемниками ИК ГСН на основе InSb (антимонид индия или сурьмянистый индий, λ~4-6 мкм) и PbS (сернистый свинец, λ~2-3 мкм). Стало принципиально недостижимо «отвлечение» этих ГСН на спектрально различимые источники.

Поэтому много усилий было направлено на создание «низкотемпературных» генераторов ИКИ спектрально подобных излучению хотя бы относительно высокотемпературных двигателей. Но на этом пути стоит два непреодолимых препятствия.

Во-первых, закон Планка, точнее, его два следствия: закон Стефана Больцмана и закон Вина. Которые говорят: источник ИК излучения с высокой энергией может быть только высокотемпературным и коротковолновым.

Второе препятствие химическое — это то, что высокая удельная (на единицу массы) мощность излучения может быть достигнута только на основе высокотемпературных пиротехнических реакций. Термиты и только термиты могут обеспечить излучение колоссальной мощности с большой скоростью разгорания при малой массе, необходимой для создания малогабаритных расходуемых элементов. Но термиты — это коротковолновое ИК излучение, интенсивное излучение в видимом диапазоне и даже немного ультрафиолета. Так что о спектральной близости надо забыть.

Поэтому настоящая концепция средств защиты строится на основе того, что излучение термитов, хотя максимум его излучения лежит в окрестностях 1.5 мкм, обеспечивает энергетическое превосходство их над газодинамическими источниками ИКИ и простирается и за 6-8 мкм.

Таким образом, речь должна идти не о создании спектрально подобных ложных целей, а о маскировке излучения защищаемого самолета как в переднюю, так и в заднюю полусферы. Для вертолетов необходимо обеспечивать защиту вкруговую. Основными источниками ИК излучения летательных аппаратов, сопровождаемых ИК ГСН ракеты, являются источники ИК излучений газоотводных труб, сопел, выхлопных патрубков и факелов двигателей.

Таким образом, если концепция радиоэлектронной защиты БКО «Талисман» и «Амулет» базируется на создании ложных целей, спектрально идентичных отраженным сигналам (категорически отвергая широкополосные шумовые маскирующие помехи), то концепция защиты от ИК ГСН, независимо от типа ИК ГСН — «точечная» или «матричная», строится на маскирующем высокоэнергетическом широкополосном излучении генераторов ИК излучения.

4. Маневр носителя БКО

Исключительно важный принцип концепции защиты от «точечных» и «матричных» ИК ГСН — маневр носителя БКО, начатый одновременно с началом отстрела ТЛЦ, и с возможно наибольшей скоростью нарастания перегрузки.

Маневр, начатый сразу после обнаружения атаки, но до отстрела ТЛЦ, смысла не имеет, так как АУР со своими 40 ед. располагаемой перегрузки и контуром управления ракеты с полосой 4-5 Гц легко спишет промах, созданный «жалкими» 5-7 единицами перегрузки носителя БКО да ещё со временем нарастания 1-2 с.

Эффективная защита от УРО с ИК ГСН (независимо от типа ИК ГСН: «точечная» или «матричная») может быть достигнута только за счет согласованного отстрела ТЛЦ и ПРМ. Отстрел ТЛЦ позволяет осуществить маскировку ИК излучения носителя, что приводит к «размыканию» контура наведения атакующей ракеты с «включением» механизма селекции целей (помехозащиты). ПРМ, выполненный под прикрытием ТЛЦ («маскировкой» ИК излучения), позволяет выйти носителю из поля зрения атакующей ракеты с ИК ГСН, что в конечном итоге приводит к промаху ракеты — непоражению носителя БКО.

5. Показатель эффективности

Эффективность разрабатываемых средств защиты от УРО с ИК ГСН должна характеризоваться только одним показателем — вероятностью непоражения носителя БКО при обстреле заданным (типовым) нарядом АУР и ЗУР.

Изложенная концепция защиты от УРО с ИК ГСН однозначно формирует состав системы защиты, реализованной в БКО «Талисман» и «Амулет», в которую входят:

— барьерный радиолокатор;

— система отстрела ТЛЦ;

— аппаратура регистрации и записи параметров БРЛ.

Барьерный радиолокатор

Барьерный радиолокатор — это многопозиционная радиолокационная система с тремя этапами работы:

— обнаружение атакующих самолет ракет всех типов с определением скорости сближения и направления атаки;

— определение дальности до каждой обнаруженной ракеты, что в совокупности со скоростью сближения позволяет определить подлетное время — основную характеристику, необходимую для применения ТЛЦ и ПРМ. Сопровождение по дальности и скорости обнаруженных ракет;

— высокоточное определение дальности на конечном участке подлета (100-150 м) ракеты для применения ТЛЦ для маскировки ИК излучения планера носителя и, возможно, специальных помех магнитно-индукционным неконтактным взрывателям некоторых ЗУР ПЗРК.

Помимо задач, определенных этапом работы, БРЛ во взаимодействии с АРЭЗ обеспечивает определение типа атакующей ракеты.

Типы селектируемых ракет:

— АУР с радиолокационными головками самонаведения (РГСН);

— ЗУР с РГСН;

— ЗУР мобильных ЗРК малой дальности;

— ЗУР ПЗРК с ИК ГСН;

— АУР с ИК ГСН.

Использование данных о типе атакующей ракеты позволяет при обнаружении атаки ракеты с РГСН не применять отстрел ТЛЦ и противоракетный маневр, т.е. экономится ограниченный расходный материал, и экипажу не усложняется выполнение боевой задачи не нужным в данном случае маневром.

Система отстрела тепловых ложных целей

Система отстрела ТЛЦ в БКО «Талисман» и «Амулет» включает:

— систему из секторных автоматов отстрела ТЛЦ с реализацией оптимальных углов и темпов отстрела, и количества расходуемых патронов.

— патроны с ускоренным разгоранием пиротехнического состава, уменьшенной скоростью отстрела и временем горения.

Аппаратура регистрации и записи параметров БРЛ

Все модули БРЛ, помимо каналов связи с системой управления вооружением носителя, «сбрасывают» данные о функционировании в аппаратуру регистрации и записи параметров БРЛ, которая привязывает их к спутниковому времени навигационных систем NAVSTAR или ГЛОНАСС. После полета они считываются и отображаются в удобном для анализа виде.



© Оборонные инициативы

При цитировании материалов ссылка на сайт обязательна